Florida State-Approved Boat Rental Course
Learn from The Best – Pass our online course today and get out on the water immediately!
Unlimited Exam Attempts
BoatSafetyTest.com is the official provider of boat license education courses in the United States, approved by NASBLA, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators. We strive to provide quality course content aimed at helping you prepare for your boating exam. Learn with us, take the exam with us, and start boating!
Yes we are! All BoatSafetyTest.com course materials, questions, and exams have been officially approved by NASBLA, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and the respective state or provincial body.
BoatSafetyTest.com offers all the educational information needed to help you to obtain your boating license and more importantly, to practice safe boating. Key topics include:
- Boating rules and regulations
- Safe operation of your boat and ensuring passenger safety
- Boat terms and how to properly equip your boat
- Identifying and understanding navigational signs and symbols
- Emergency Response
Yes! We are an accredited boating license provider. When you pass our course and final exam, upon payment, you will immediately receive a temporary license.
You may take the exam as many times as needed to pass. However, we encourage proper study habits, including re-visiting the course materials if you do not pass the first time. We want you to pass and be able to practice safe boating!
BoatSafetyTest.com charges a standard fee for the exam, as outlined in each state and provincial page of the website. The cost includes a temporary license that can be printed immediately after you pass your exam.
After you pass the course and exam, you can print your temporary license card. A copy will also be emailed to you. Your temporary card is good for 90 days.
The total cost is $9.99. This includes $3.00 for the exam fee and $6.99 for access to study material and unlimited exam attempts.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Florida to take this online course.
The Florida Boat Rental Course is approved and accepted by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
The Temporary Boating Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 76% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will receive the Temporary Boating Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.
In order to operate a motorboat of ten (10) horsepower or greater, Florida law requires anyone who was born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 to successfully complete an approved boating safety course and obtain a Boating Safety Education Identification Card issued by the FWC.
Effective Jan. 1, 2010, boat operators who were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, must have a Florida Boating Safety Education Card to operate a motorboat with 10 horsepower or more. The requirement to take an approved boating safety course and to obtain an FWC-issued identification card did not change, but the age threshold for the educational requirements is now be based on whether or not you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988.
- The new law also created an exemption from the educational requirements for an operator if he or she is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel and has available for inspection aboard that vessel a bill of sale meeting all the requirements as established in Chapter 328.46(1), Florida Statutes.
Yes, there are some exemptions. Below is a list of those exemptions.
- A person licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel.
- A person operating on a private lake or pond.
- An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is least 18 years old and possesses the required Boating Safety Education Identification Card, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
- An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is exempt from the educational requirements, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
- A nonresident who has in his or her possession proof that he or she has completed a NASBLA-approved boater safety course or equivalency examination from another state.
- A person is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel and has available for inspection aboard that vessel a bill of sale meeting all the requirements as established in Chapter 328.46(1), Florida Statutes.
- A person operating a vessel within 90 days after completing an approved boating safety course, as required in Chapter 327.395(1), and has a photographic I.D. and a boater education course completion certificate showing proof of having completed the required boating safety education course. The course completion certificate must provide the student’s first and last name, date of birth, and the date the course was successfully completed. (Effective Oct. 1, 2011.)
As a nonresident, you must comply with the boating safety education requirements. However, if you have proof in your possession that you have completed a boater safety course or equivalency exam that meets or exceeds Florida’s requirements (usually in the form of a certificate or card), you would not need to have a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card. In addition, you would also be exempt if you met any of the other conditions for exemptions listed in the previous question.
If you are visiting from another state and you do not meet any of the conditions to be exempt from the boating safety education requirements, you can get a temporary certificate in order to rent a boat. The certificate issued by BoatSafetyTest.com meets this requirement. The temporary certificate is valid for 90 days and is not intended to be a permanent replacement for the Boating Safety Education Identification Card.